You are the owner of this article.

Stewart, McGriff set track records at Speedway

Tucson Speedway

Austin Stewart (3ss) and Bill Engle (69) race for the lead in the second Modified main event Saturday at Tucson Speedway. After setting a new track record in qualifying, Stewart went on to win the twin Modified features.

TUCSON — After setting new track records in the Outlaw Late Model and Modified divisions Saturday at Tucson Speedway, Hershel McGriff and Austin Stewart geared up for main event racing.


With a qualifying time of 15.730 on the 3/8th-mile oval, Stewart’s Modified would be the car to beat in the upcoming twin features.

Brice Bonnett had the pole for the first main event. Stewart started sixth.

Bonnett and Dusty Gauthier battled door-door for the lead while Stewart worked his way through the field to battle for third with Brian Harrington on lap 13.

Sideways out of turn four on lap 18, Bonnett gave up the lead to Stewart who cruised to victory lane.

In the second feature, Jeremy Smith took the early lead. Bill Engle followed him into second.

From his eighth-place starting position, Stewart squeezed through traffic followed by David Levitt.

Contact between Bonnett, Levitt and Harrington brought out the caution.

Engle took the lead on the restart with Stewart in second and Levitt third.

Stewart had the better of a drag race for the lead on lap 12 and pulled away from the field for his second win of the night.

Engle held on to second and Levitt finished third.

Outlaw Late Models

Hershel McGriff Jr. set a new Outlaw Late Model track record with a 16.082 qualifying lap.

Dylan Jones had the pole with points leader Harry Ram on the outside. McGriff started sixth.

Ram took the early lead, and by lap 10 McGriff and Brandon Schilling dove low making it a three-wide battle for second with Jones.

Schilling cleared the pack and took the lead from Ram. McGriff followed him into second.

With five to go, McGriff saw an opening on the inside making it a drag race for the lead.

Coming out of turn one with two to go, contact between Schilling and McGriff sent McGriff into the wall, ending his night.

Schilling was sent to the back of the field on the restart for his involvement.

Jones had the lead on the restart and held it for his second feature win of the 2019 season. Schilling made his way back to second and Josh Soto finished third.


Kerri Outenreath had the pole for the Hornet feature with Phillip Lopez on the outside.

Lopez took the early lead. From fifth, Skyler Teeters cleared the field to take second on lap two, while Tim Olds followed him into third.

With handling issues on his No. 2 car, Lopez gave up the lead to Teeters.

From her ninth-place starting position, points leader Jennifer Hall took over the lead before the midway point of the 20-lap race.

Randy Spivey moved into second before the end of the race, and Teeters held on for a third-place finish.

Hobby Stocks

Gary Lacy and John Slade had the front row for the start of the Hobby Stock main event.

Slade pulled away from the field. From fifth, Shannon Tutt took over second.

Tutt began closing the gap on Slade. Points leader Eddie Benson sat out of striking distance in third.

A caution on lap eight for Jacob Corneliusen sitting in the turn one wall regrouped the field.

Slade again took charge of the field on the restart.

Benson and Tutt raced door-to-door with Tutt having the better of it.

Slade drove his No. 14 to victory lane, however upon post-race inspection, he was stripped of his victory and the win went to Tutt. Benson took second and Jay Vander Weg finished third.

Super Late Models

Dane Jorgenson took the early lead at the start of the first Super late Model main event. Kole Raz and Brandon Farrington made it three-wide for the lead. Raz emerged with the top spot. Farrington took over second, and Vanessa Robinson cleared the pack for third.

Farrington took the lead from his teammate on lap 10, but could not shake Raz. Robinson held on to third.

Farrington held on to the lead for his third Super late Model win of the season.

Joe Paladenic and Cassie Gannis had the front row for the second feature. Coming out of four on the first lap, contact sent Paladenic spinning in front of the field. All drivers were able to avoid the spun car.

Jorgenson, Gannis and Paul Banghart raced three wide for the lead with Raz and Sean Bray battling door-to-door behind them. Banghart emerged the new leader, but quickly lost it to Raz. Dustin Jones followed him to second. Farrington cleared Banghart and Jones to challenge Raz for the lead. Raz was able to hold off his teammate for his fourth win of the season. Farrington finished second and Robinson third.

Next race

Tucson Speedway is back in action July 6 with the NASCAR Modifieds, Thunder Trucks, Pro Stocks, Hobby Stocks, Legends and Bandoleros. Gates open at 5 p.m.

meet and greet at 6 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m. For information, visit www.tucsonspeedway.com.


Recommended for you

Load comments